Adrien Marco Trio

A universe very rich in emotion, a varied repertoire and wide influences, which give life to spontaneous music. Three musicians, two guitars and a double bass! The Trio has a resolutely gypsy footprint, influenced by the encounters that the guitarist was able to make within the travel community.

Following the worthy legacy of the great Django Reinhardt, this trio has a real passion for gypsy music and what it expresses. Adrien Marco has a personal good, inspired by the Sinti community: a lively, aerial, and precise game. Passion, and expression are omnipresent in this music. That's whatAdrien Marco Trio invites you to discover and share.

Having become an essential reference for Gypsy jazz in Burgundy in a few years, Adrien Marco Trio has since broadened his playing field to the whole country and others (Germany, Italy, etc.). The guitarist also participated in the Festival Django in June 2012 to Boston (USA), and at International Jazz & Joy Festival 2016 to Worms (Germany), and finally in the headline of the Gipsy Jazz Festival 2018 to Rooms (France)

Presentation of the Group

Adrien Marco -Guitar soloist

Jazz Action Interview
© Philippe MARZAT

of Italian roots, Adrien Marco is a guitarist from Burgundy, who starts at the age of 17. Self-taught, he started the instrument by randomly discovering the music Django Reinhardt. A style in which he finds a part of his personality: emotion, and the pleasure of exchanging. After this stroke of heart, he naturally chooses this path. He then turned to the game of the Sinti community, a typical game where music is pure language. Over time, he meets families of travelers and evolves with them. Living in Paris, he has the pleasure of meeting talented musicians like the renowned Samy has. The latter will give him his first concerts in Paris. He will later play The Flea mug (Saint Ouen) and other famous Parisian places (Monk Tavern of Cluny, Charon Workshop, etc.). He meets over time great masters of style as Angelo DebarreTchavolo Shmitt, Dorado Schmitt and many others...

He created his first group Ketelos, in 2005, which received a few years later the price of " Group emerging from Yonne ». Adrien Marco Trio is then founded in 2008. He is accompanied byAdrien Ribat In rhythm guitar or Titi Hagg Yes Mathieu Chatelain. and to Maxime Ivachtchenko On the double bass. Since then, the trio has been skimming all over France. We will also note the first part of big names like Sanseverino At the eclectic Festival in 2010. On the other hand, Adrien Marco is invited by Ricky Ford To make the first part of Bobby FewThe Toucy Jazz Festival In 2012. The same year, the 24-year-old guitarist leaves for Boston (MA), invited by the organizer of the FeStival Django In June. Great week during which he played with guitarists such as Denis Chang (Quebec), Paulus Schaffer (Holland), Olli Soikelli (Finland), Stephane Wrembel (EU). In November 2014, the trio shares the stage with the group "The man's fingers". And in 2018 that of the clarinetist Louis Sclavis.

The recognized musician continues his journey totaling over 900 concerts and notable events, such as recording with Ricky Ford In the studio for the album of a friend in common. Now Adrien Marco and his trio are at the top of the poster festivals like Gipsy Jazz FestivaL (2018), alongside Romanesque Yes Ninine Gallagher.

Although deeply attached to the gypsy game, Adrien Marco is influenced by other styles of music, ranging from American hip hop to funk music, jazz, classical music and Italian song. He is also inspired by other guitarists like Georges Benson, Joe Pass, Luis Salinas, or even Costa Lucacks, to whom he pays homage in his debut album " Clin d'oeil » released in 2013. He also released the album «» Voyages In 2016, opus very rich, and greeted enthusiastically by critics (Cf. "Reviews of the albums") .

What will come out of Adrien Marco's game are all his influences, but also a lot of pleasure in playing this music, a primordial desire to get his emotions through the notes.

Adrien Ribat -rhythm guitar

Adrien Ribat started the guitar at the age of 14 while playing rock and blues. He then discovers Gypsy jazz by listening to the albums of the famous guitarist Django Reinhardt. At the age of 20, he learns jazz alongside Pierre Cullaz and Boulou Fernandes. It was during the same year that he met Joe Marco In Paris, and joined his trio in 2011. He is now a part of various trainings, and is trying to enrich his musical language through different styles. Ranging from gypsy Jazz to Variety, to rock and folk.

© Titouan Rimbault
© Titouan Rimbault

Titi Weiss -rhythm guitar

Born and residing in Forbach, Titi Weiss hails from a gypsy family. He starts the guitar small, with his uncle who teaches him his first chords. He then made the discovery of Django Reinhardt But also the Titi Winterstein Quartet. He made his first concerts with Bronson Schmitt (Son of Dorado Schmitt) and his cousin Toto Haag. During his career he accompanies musicians such as Timbo Merhstein, Geisela Reinhardt, Gaga Weiss . In 2017, Titi met Adrien, and their complicity was immediate. The idea then arises spontaneously for them to play together.

Titi Haag
© SL

Maxime Ivachtchenko -double bass

From a mother dancer star, and a father conductor. He spent three years at the musical college in Kiev's classic double-bass class. Then he is recruited into The Red Army As a bass player. He studied classical bass at the Kiev Higher Conservatory, while working as a complementary musician of the Kiev Symphony Orchestra. At the same time, he plays in a reputed group in Ukraine named " Ukraiina ». Group with which he toured in Italy, Austria, Germany and France. Then he decides to settle in France. Much later, Adrien Marco And the double bassist meet, and choose to work together. Thus, it is quite natural that Maxime Ivachtchenko incorporates the trio.

Maxime Ivachtchenko
© Jean Claude Duquennes

Adrien Marco Trio

A propos

Un univers très riche en émotion, un répertoire varié et des influences larges, qui donnent vie à une musique spontanée. Trois musiciens, deux guitares et une contrebasse ! Devenu en quelques années une référence incontournable du jazz et jazz manouche en Bourgogne, Adrien Marco Trio à une empreinte résolument manouche, influencée par les rencontres amicales et musicales que le jeune guitariste a pu faire au sein de la communauté des gens du voyage. Suivant le digne héritage du grand Django Reinhardt, ce trio voue une véritable passion pour la musique manouche et ce qu’elle exprime. Ainsi, Adrien Marco se laisse influencer par le jeu de la communauté Sinti : un jeu très vif, aérien, et précis, où la musique est un langage pur, une langue à part entière. L’échange, la passion, et l’expression sont omniprésents dans cette musique.

Ici, un univers personnel riche en couleurs, en influences, en émotions. En somme, le cœur parle. C’est ce qu’ Adrien Marco Trio vous invite à découvrir et à partager. Établis dans l’Yonne, Adrien Marco Trio joue beaucoup en Bourgogne, mais aussi dans le reste de la France et peut se déplacer à l’étranger. Le guitariste a d’ailleurs participé au Festival Django in June 2012 à Boston (MA), et au Festival International Jazz & Joy à Worms (Allemagne) en 2016.

Ce trio formé de trois musiciens d’horizons divers est habité par la même éthique : jouer une musique spontanée, en y impliquant tous leurs cœurs et en restant fidèle à l’esprit manouche.

Présentation du groupe

Adrien Marco – guitare soliste

Adrien Marco Worms 2016
© Béatrix Mutschler

De racines Italiennes, Adrien Marco est un guitariste originaire de l’Yonne, qui débute à 17 ans. Autodidacte, il a commencé la guitare en découvrant par hasard la musique Django Reinhardt. Une rencontre fabuleuse, et un style de musique dans laquelle il retrouve une partie de sa personnalité : de la fougue, de l’émotion, de la liberté, et le plaisir d’échanger. Après ce coup de cœur, il choisit donc naturellement cette voie musicale, et s’oriente alors vers le jeu de la communauté Sinti, un jeu typiquement manouche : très vif, aérien et précis, où la musique est un langage pur, une langue à part entière. Au fil du temps, il rencontre des familles de voyageurs et évolue avec eux. Ces belles rencontres le confortent à évoluer toujours dans cette musique riche, fabuleuse d’échange et d’émotions. En allant à Paris, il a aussi le plaisir de rencontrer des musiciens talentueux comme le réputé Samy Daussat, qui lui donnera ses premiers concerts à Paris, ainsi que la famille Brunard : Christophe Brunard, Julien Brunard, et William Brunard,  avec qui il jouera régulièrement. Des concerts également avec Kamlo Barré, Frangy Delporte. Il rencontre aussi par le chemin des boeufs des grands Maîtres du style comme Angelo Debarre et Tchavolo Shmitt .

Il crée son premier groupe Ketelos, en 2005, qui devient quelques années plus tard « groupe émergeant de l’Yonne » par le mythique cabaret de l’Escale à Migennes, là ou ont chanté Edith Piaf, Jacques Brel. Puis il fonde Adrien Marco Trio en 2008. Depuis ce temps, le trio écume toute la Bourgogne, et fait ainsi la première partie de Sanseverino au Festival Éclectique en 2010, puis celle du grand Bobby Few, pianiste Américain, au Festival Jazz de Toucy en 2012. La même année, le jeune guitariste part pour Boston (MA), invité par Andrew Laurence à participer au Festival Django In June. Belle semaine durant laquelle il joue avec des guitaristes comme Denis Chang (Québec), Paulus Schaffer (Hollande) , Olli Soïkelli (Finlande), Stéphane Wrembel (EU). En Novembre 2014, il fait la première partie du groupe “Les Doigts de l’Homme” , à la salle du Silex, à Auxerre.

Bien que profondément attaché au jeu manouche, particulièrement au style de guitare Django ou de Stochelo Rosenberg (Hollande), Adrien Marco se laisse influencer par d’autres styles de musiques, allant du hip hop américain jusqu’à la musique funk, le jazz, ou encore la musique classique et la chanson Italienne. Il se laisse également imprégné d’autres grands guitaristes comme par Georges Benson, Joe Pass, Luis Salinas, ou encore Costa Lucacks, à qui il rend hommage dans son premier album « Clin d’œil » sorti en 2013. Il sort aussi l’album « Voyages » en 2016, opus très riche, et accueilli avec enthousiasme par les critiques (Cf. “Critiques des albums“) .

Ce qui ressortira du jeu d’Adrien Marco, ce sont toutes ses influences, mais aussi beaucoup de plaisir à jouer cette musique, une envie de faire passer des émotions à travers les notes.

Adrien Ribat – guitare rythmique

Adrien Ribat commence la guitare à l’âge de 14 ans en jouant du rock et du blues, puis il découvre le jazz manouche en écoutant les albums du célèbre guitariste Django Reinhardt. A ses 20 ans, il décide de se professionnaliser, et apprend le jazz aux côtés de Pierre Cullaz et Boulou Ferre. C’est au cours de la même année qu’il rencontre Adrien Marco à Paris, et intègre son trio en 2011. Il fait aujourd’hui parti de diverses formations, et essaye d’enrichir son langage musical à travers différents styles, allant du jazz manouche à la variété, en passant par le rock et la folk.

© Titouan Rimbault

Maxime Ivachtchenko – contrebasse

Né en Ukraine, Maxime vit là-bas. Il est issu d’une mère Danseuse Etoile, et d’un Père Chef D’Orchestre. Il Passe trois ans au collège musical en classe de contrebasse classique de Kiev. Puis il est recruté au sein de l’Armée Rouge en tant que bassiste. Il étudie la contrebasse classique au Conservatoire Supérieur de Kiev, tout en travaillant comme musicien complémentaire de l’orchestre symphonique de Kiev. Parallèlement, il joue dans un groupe réputé en Ukraine nommé « Ukraiina ». Groupe avec lequel il fait des tournées en Italie, en Autriche, Allemagne et France. Puis il décide de s’installer en France. Bien plus tard, Adrien Marco et le contrebassiste se rencontrent, et choisissent de travailler ensemble car ce dernier a beaucoup d’expérience dans le domaine musical, et notamment tzigane, ce qui était bien pour le style manouche ! Ainsi, c’est tout naturellement que Maxime Ivachtchenko intègre le trio.

www.adrienmarcotrio.com
© Jean Claude Duquennes