Album "Voyages" (2016)

"Listening to the new album by Adrien Marco," Voyages ", is an absolutely delicious journey." Adrien's superb guitar invites us to travel through the essence of Gypsy jazz, adding Mediterranean sounds from its Italian hometown. Its range ranges from heartfelt ballads to flamboyant Gypsy airs. «Voyages, reveals an exquisite taste in the choice of repertoire, great songs and original arrangements, and overall diversity in sound and timbre. The young man plays acoustic and electric guitar, focuses on melodic interpretation, displays an eclectic musical knowledge and often quotes delightful recognizable phrases on his improvisation. Groove Rhythmic section with high level, versatility and good taste. Finally, the arrangement of the guitarist and his interpretation on " Historia de un Amor "probably this version makes one of the best we can find. »

Nuno Marinho – nunomarinhomusic.WordPress.com

 

«Third disc recorded via KissKissBankBank for this trio that has existed since 2008; Well boosted by an efficient and welded rhythmic (Adrien Ribat, guitar and Maxime Ivachtchenko, double bass), Adrien confirms all the good that one thought of him; Also at ease in the electrical (CF)  Cherish(, amazing recovery of Kool and the gang where one is not far away from Babik) acoustics, Adrien is before all a designer attentive to the sound, to sculpture; of the note and the construction of the chorus There is sometimes the Moreno in his sentimental and air, but less angry sentence; of virtuosity but no rush, Adrien not hesitating to dawdle (cf its chorus on) Come prima). Very eclectic and rather unusual, the repertoire goes from Fly me to the moon to True Love Ways From Buddy Holly, from Historia de un amor (with a beautiful presentation signed by Adrien) to I'll gladly make the same mistake again, sung once by Dean Martin, singing songs reviewed and corrected with finesse and intelligence without ever forgetting the swing. Side Manoucheries, two versions of For all the people that I love Jimmy Rosenberg and Milko of Titi Winterstein, who have nothing to envy to the top names in the style. A note also Robe Noiresigned very removed Waltz Adrien with a beautiful arrangement of guitars re - re, where his sentence to the clear articulation wonders. This is a highly recommended disc which prolongs and renews the style with a welcome freshness. Bravo! »

Francis Couvreux - TradMag

"End l'orpailleur of gypsy language, artificer patient of his live sets, Adrien Marco blows up an album just as urgent as the previous ones and clearer still." The air of time seems to feed from end to end the opus. No updating of the Gypsy, no modernity above ground here, not just the envy, visibly as joyful as ever-present, to connect the digested inheritance – For all the people that I love From Jimmy Rosenberg, quasi-case of romantic study – to the escape from the repertoire that would have been snugly thought predestined to the guitarist – Royal diving in the True Love Ways "From Buddy Holly, the secret nugget of rock'n ' roll pantheon."

Guillaume Mavoisin – "Pumping!", Tempo Magazine # 59.

Wink Album (2013)

«Discovered very recently on the site of the friend Patrus (we see Adrien Marco crossing the ropes at the festival Django in June in the USA), I was able to appreciate the talent of this young guitarist in June last during a jam in this same patrus, decidedly inevitable. "Winks" is the second disc of his trio created in 2008 on the Sens side in the Yonne; well accompanied by Adrien Ribat, guitar and Maxime Ivachtchenko, double bass, Adrien asserts himself as a promising talent. If his clear phrasing, without haste, borrows from the Dutch school (cf. the superb bossa hymn of Am Katénès, where he has accents at the Stochelo) and the Parisian school, our man has well digested his influences (cf. "Sweet influences" precisely, remarkable personal composition where the shadows of Django and Costa Lucas, brilliantly performed solo, Adrien combining Finesse and Sensibility , chained with a very poetic version of what is left of our love of Trent. Unlike a lot of young triggers in style, this autodidact does not abuse his remarkable technique, preferring to sculpt the notes by feeling and letting the music breathe (see his poetic version of Sabor A Mi, formerly recorded by Tan Choo then more recently by Moréno), showing when it is necessary that he also has fingers and that he knows what swing means (cf his nervous chorus on Sunny in a removed version, or his remarkably sent interpretation of Latcheben, magnificent Waltz Acrobatic Wasso Grüneholz). Chosen with taste, the covers go from Salvador's Winter garden to Joseph Joseph, passing through the Indian summer (Adrien sends some nice rockets) or Love, previously recorded by Nat King Cole. Django is not forgotten, of course, with troubling Bolero, Django's Tiger and Blues in minor, played electric guitar way Django years 40/50. We feel a humility and a great respect for the music of this young guitarist that we will certainly hear about in the near future. In the meantime, here is a disc that listens with great pleasure. Highly recommended! »

Francis Couvreux - DjangoStation

Album "Voyages" (2016)

« L’écoute du nouvel album d’Adrien Marco,  «Voyages», est un voyage absolument délicieux. La superbe guitare d’Adrien  nous invite à voyager à travers l’essence du Jazz Manouche, en ajoutant des sons méditerranéens de sa ville natale italienne. Sa gamme va de ballades sincères à de flamboyants airs manouches. «Voyages», révèle un goût exquis dans le choix du répertoire, de grandes chansons et des arrangements originaux, et de la diversité globale dans le son et le timbre. Le jeune homme joue de la guitare acoustique et électrique, met l’accent sur l’interprétation mélodique, affiche une connaissance musicale éclectique et cite souvent des phrases reconnaissables délicieuses sur son improvisation. La section rythmique groove avec haut niveau, polyvalence et bon goût. Aussi Julien Brunard au violon affiche des performances étonnantes. Enfin, l’arrangement du guitariste et son interprétation sur « Historia De Un Amor » fait probablement de cette version l’une des meilleures qu’on puisse trouver. »

Nuno Marinho – nunomarinhomusic.wordpress.com

 

« Troisième disque enregistré via KissKissBankBank pour ce trio qui existe depuis 2008 ; bien boosté par une rythmique efficace et soudée ( Adrien Ribat, guitare et Maxime Ivachtchenko, contrebasse), Adrien confirme tout le bien que l’on pensait de lui ; aussi à l’aise à l’électrique (cf  Cherish, étonnante reprise de Kool and the gang où l’on n’est pas loin de Babik) qu’à l’acoustique , Adrien est avant tout un styliste attentif au son, à la sculpture de la note et à la construction du chorus ; il y a parfois du Moréno dans son phrasé sentimental et aérien, mais en moins énervé ; de la virtuosité mais pas de précipitation, Adrien n’hésitant pas à musarder (cf son chorus sur Come prima). Très éclectique et plutôt inhabituel, le répertoire passe de Fly me to the moon à True love ways de Buddy Holly, de Historia de un amor (avec un bel exposé signé Adrien) à I’ll gladly make the same mistake again, chanté jadis par Dean Martin, des morceaux chantants  revus et corrigés avec finesse et intelligence sans jamais oublier le swing. Sur deux titres, Adrien a invité Julien Brunard, violoniste qui joue régulièrement en concert avec le trio (cf le nerveux Blues du caviste de sa composition). Côté manoucheries, deux versions de For all the people that i love de Jimmy Rosenberg et de Milko de Titi Winterstein, qui n’ont rien à envier aux cadors du style. A signaler aussi Robe Noire, valse très enlevée signée Adrien avec un bel arrangement de guitares en re-re, où son phrasé à l’articulation limpide fait merveille. Voilà un disque vivement recommandé qui prolonge et renouvelle le style avec une fraîcheur bienvenue. Bravo ! »

Francis Couvreux – TradMag

“Fin orpailleur du langage manouche, artificier patient de ses sets live, Adrien Marco fait sauter à coups d’éclairs un album tout aussi urgent que les précédents et plus clair encore. L’air du temps semble nourrir de bout en bout l’opus. Pas de réactualisation du manouche, pas de modernité hors-sol ici, non simplement l’envie, visiblement aussi joyeuse qu’indéboulonnable, de relier l’héritage digéré – For All The People That I Love de Jimmy Rosenberg, quasi-cas d’étude amoureuse – à l’échappée hors du répertoire qu’on aurait douillettement pensé prédestiné au guitariste – plongée royale dans le True Love Ways de Buddy Holly, pépite secrète du panthéon rock’n’roll.”

Guillaume Malvoisin – “Coups de Pompe !”, Magazine Tempo # 59.

Album Clin D'oeil (2013)

« Découvert très récemment sur le site de l’ami Patrus (on voit Adrien Marco croiser les cordes lors du festival Django in june aux USA), j’ai pu apprécier le talent de ce jeune guitariste à Samois en juin dernier lors d’une jam chez ce même Patrus, décidément incontournable. « Clins d’œil » est le 2ème disque de son trio créé en 2008 du côté de Sens dans l’Yonne ; bien accompagné par Adrien Ribat, guitare et Maxime Ivachtchenko, contrebasse, Adrien s’affirme comme un talent prometteur. Si son phrasé limpide, sans précipitation, emprunte à l’école hollandaise (cf sur le superbe Bossa cantique d’Am Katénès, où il a des accents à la Stochelo) et à l’école parisienne, notre homme a bien digéré ses influences (cf « douces influences » justement, remarquable composition personnelle où planent les ombres de Django et de Costa Lucas, brillamment interprétée en solo, Adrien conjuguant finesse et sensibilité, enchaînée avec une version très poétique de Que reste-t-il de nos amours de Trenet). Contrairement à pas mal de jeunes gâchettes dans le style, cet autodidacte n’abuse pas de sa remarquable technique, préférant sculpter les notes en y mettant du sentiment et laisser la musique respirer (cf sa version poétique de Sabor a mi , jadis enregistrée par Tchan Tchou puis plus récemment par Moréno), montrant quand il le faut qu’il a aussi des doigts et qu’il sait ce que swinguer veut dire (cf son chorus nerveux sur Sunny dans une version enlevée sur laquelle brille aussi Julien Brunard , invité sur deux titres au violon, ou son interprétation remarquablement envoyée de Latcheben , magnifique valse acrobatique de Wasso Grüneholz). Choisies avec gout, les reprises vont de Jardin d’hiver de Salvador à Joseph Joseph, en passant par l’été indien (Adrien envoie quelques belles fusées) ou Love, enregistré jadis par Nat King Cole. Django n’est pas oublié, bien sûr, avec Troublant boléro, Django’s tiger et Blues en mineur, joué à la guitare électrique façon Django années 40/50. On sent une humilité et un immense respect pour la musique chez ce jeune guitariste dont on va certainement entendre parler dans un futur proche. En attendant, voilà un disque qui s’écoute avec grand plaisir. Vivement conseillé ! »

Francis Couvreux – DjangoStation